USDA issues final rule amending federal order fluid milk definition

USDA issued a final rule amending the definition of Class I fluid milk products in all federal milk marketing orders, effective Jan. 1, 2011.

These amendments, which were approved by producers, maintain the current 6.5% nonfat milk solid standard and incorporates an alternative 2.25% true milk protein criterion to determine whether a product meets the compositional standard for fluid milk products.

This rule also amends the fluid milk product definition to provide exemptions for drinkable yogurt products containing at least 20% yogurt (by weight), kefir, and products intended to be meal replacements. The decision clarifies how milk and milk-derived ingredients should be priced under all Federal milk marketing orders when used in fluid milk products.

The final rule appears in the Aug. 24 Federal Register and becomes effective Jan. 1, 2011. For additional information about the decision contact:

Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478

Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com

Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

P.O. Box 91528, Louisville, KY 40291-0528

Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com

Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

1550 North Brown Road, Suite 120, Lawrenceville, GA 30043

Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com

Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

1600 West 82nd Street, Suite 200, Minneapolis, MN 55431-1420

Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com

Central: David C. Stukenberg

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650

Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: David.Stukenberg@fmmacentral.com

Mideast: Paul A. Huber

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

P.O. Box 5102, Brunswick, OH 44212

Tel. (330) 225-4758; email: phuber@fmmaclev.com

Pacific Northwest and Arizona: James R. Daugherty

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471

Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com

Southwest: Cary Hunter

USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs

P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939

Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com

background_banner