New York Farm Bureau Names

“Circle of Friends” in the State Legislature


Albany, N.Y., August 19, 2011 – New York Farm Bureau, the state’s largest general farm advocacy organization, has named 93 State Legislators to its “Circle of Friends.”  The award is an indication of the individual lawmaker’s support of New York agriculture and the Farm Bureau.

            “The ‘Circle of Friends’ award is based upon each legislator’s voting record on issues of importance to New York agriculture and other evidence of legislative support, including sponsorship of bills that Farm Bureau has either supported, or opposed, throughout the Legislative Session,” stated Dean Norton, New York Farm Bureau President. 

            The selected lawmakers were chosen for their strong support of New York ’s family farms.  Each “Circle of Friends” member has demonstrated that they understand the importance of agriculture in their legislative district, and how the industry impacts the economy and the future of New York State .  The “Circle of Friends” award is not an endorsement, and includes only the 2011 Legislative Session.


“Circle of Friends” recipients for 2011 are:

NYS Senate

James Alesi

Greg Ball

John Bonacic

David Carlucci

John DeFrancisco

Hugh Farley

John Flanagan

Charles Fuschillo Jr.

Patrick Gallivan

Martin Golden

Joseph Griffo

Mark Grisanti

Kemp Hannon

Owen Johnson

Timothy Kennedy

Kenneth LaValle

Andrew Lanza

William Larkin

Thomas Libous

Betty Little

Jack Martins

George Maziarz

Roy McDonald

Michael Nozzolio

NYS Senate Continued



Tom O’Mara

Michael Ranzenhofer

Patty Ritchie

Joseph Robach

Stephen Saland

James Seward

Dean Skelos

Malcolm Smith

David Valesky

Cathy Young

Lee Zeldin


NYS Assembly


George Amedore

Will Barclay

Ken Blankenbush

Dan Burling

Marc Butler 

Nancy Calhoun

John Ceretto

James Conte

Jane Corwin

Clifford Crouch

Brian Curran

Michael Cusick 

Janet Duprey

Gary Finch

Michael Fitzpatrick

Christopher Friend

Dennis Gabryszak

Joe Giglio

Andy Goodell

Al Graf

Aileen Gunther

Sean Hanna

Steve Hawley

Jim Hayes

Tony Jordan

Tom Kirwan

Brian Kolb 

Peter Lopez

Dan Losquadro

Donna Lupardo

William Magee

Alan Maisel

Margaret Markey

David McDonough

Tom McKevitt

Steven McLaughlin

Grace Meng

Donald Miller

Joel Miller

Marcus Molinaro

Michael Montesano

Joseph Morelle

Dean Murray

Robert Oaks

Philip Palmesano

Annie Rabbitt

Andrew Raia

Bill Reilich

Bob Reilly

Addie Russell

Joseph Saladino

Teresa Sayward

Robin Schimminger

Kevin Smardz

James Tedisco

Claudia Tenney

Lou Tobacco

David Weprin



New York Farm Bureau is the State’s largest agricultural lobbying/trade organization.  Its members and the public know the organization as “The Voice of New York Agriculture.”  New York Farm Bureau is dedicated to solving the economic and public policy issues challenging the agricultural community.