← Return to Home Page

Cargill partners with AABP to award scholarships

left to right are: Dusti Small, Amanda Wagner, Emily Waggoner, Joel Anderson, Dr. Charles Gardner, Jared Ranly, Travis AllenCargill Animal Nutrition and the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) Foundation partnered to award seven scholarships to senior veterinary students. The recipients were honored during the Opening Ceremony at the AABP Annual Conference in Montreal, Canada on September 20, 2012. These seven individuals were selected based on commitment to bovine veterinary medicine, interest in bovine nutrition, and understanding of the role of food animal medicine in feeding the world. Cargill provided the funding for these scholarships in recognition of the important position that bovine veterinarians have in the beef and dairy industries. Dr. Charlie Gardner represented Cargill and presented the checks.

“We are proud to be a part of this program and partner with the AABP to award these distinguished students scholarships,” said Gardner. “These students represent the future of bovine medicine and we hope to help them attain their career goals and continue to move the profession forward with nutrition research and new technologies.”

The recipients of the 2012 AABP Foundation – Cargill Animal Nutrition Scholarships and their respective schools are:
• Amanda Wagner – Ohio State
• Emily Waggoner – University of Georgia
• Jared Ranly – Texas A & M
• Dusti Small – University of Florida
• Travis Allen – Washington State
• Jacob Geis – Iowa State
• Joel Anderson – Ohio State

In addition to the scholarship checks, Cargill, in cooperation with Elanco Animal Health, will host an interactive meeting with the scholarship recipients, several practicing bovine veterinarians, and industry experts to discuss the future role of bovine practitioners. This meeting will take place in the spring of 2013 at the Cargill Innovation Center in Elk River, Minnesota.

For more information, visit www.cargill.com.