NDB appointees named

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack appointed 12 dairy members to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board. All appointees’ terms will begin immediately, with terms ending Oct. 31, 2014.

Newly appointed members are: Kima Simonson, Washington (Region 1); Lynda Foster, Kansas (Region 4); John Howerton, Arkansas (Region 4); Amber Horn-Leiterman, Wisconsin (Region 6); Larry Shover, Iowa (Region 7); Julie Veldhuis Lund, Idaho (Region 8); Urban Mescher, Ohio (Region 9); Celeste Deaderick Blackburn, Tennessee (Region 10); and Harold Howrigan, Jr., Vermont (Region 12).


Reappointed to serve second terms were: Ronald Shelton, Colorado (Region 3); Kenton Holle, North Dakota (Region 5); and Sharon Laubscher, Wisconsin (Region 6).


The Dairy Board was established under the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983, as amended, to develop and administer a coordinated program of promotion, research, and nutrition education. The 38-member Dairy Board is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry’s position in domestic and foreign markets. The program is financed by a mandatory 15¢/cwt. assessment on all milk marketed commercially and a 7.5¢/cwt. assessment, or equivalent thereof, on milk and dairy products imported into the United States.